Ministerial role

Chief Secretary to the Treasury

Organisations: HM Treasury
Current role holder: Laura Trott MBE MP


The Chief Secretary (CST) is responsible for public expenditure, including:

  • spending reviews and strategic planning
  • in-year spending control
  • public sector pay and pensions
  • Annually Managed Expenditure (AME) and welfare reform
  • efficiency and value for money in public service
  • procurement
  • capital investment
  • infrastructure spending
  • housing and planning
  • spending issues related to trade
  • transport policy, including HS2, Crossrail 2, Roads, Network Rail, Oxford/Cambridge corridor
  • Treasury interest in devolution to Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland
  • women in the economy
  • skills, labour market policy and childcare policy, including tax free childcare
  • tax credits policy
  • housing and planning
  • legislative strategy
  • state pensions/ pensioner benefits
  • freeports – with support from EST on customs aspects .

Current role holder

Laura Trott MBE MP

Laura Trott was appointed Chief Secretary to the Treasury on 13 November 2023.

She was previously Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Department for Work and Pensions between 27 October 2022 and 13 November 2023.

More about this person

Previous holders of this role

  1. The Rt Hon John Glen MP

    2022 to 2023

  2. The Rt Hon Edward Argar MP

    2022 to 2022

  3. The Rt Hon Chris Philp MP

    2022 to 2022

  4. The Rt Hon Simon Clarke MP

    2021 to 2022

  5. The Rt Hon Steve Barclay MP

    2020 to 2021

  6. The Rt Hon Rishi Sunak MP

    2019 to 2020

  7. The Rt Hon Elizabeth Truss MP

    2017 to 2019

  8. The Rt Hon David Gauke

    2016 to 2017

  9. The Rt Hon Greg Hands MP

    2015 to 2016

  10. The Rt Hon Danny Alexander

    2010 to 2015

  11. The Rt Hon David Laws

    2010 to 2010