Board member

Pippa Britton OBE


Pippa Britton is a double Paralympian who competed on the GB archery team for 15 years and who represented the Welsh able-bodied team on more than 20 occasions. She achieved podium places at 6 consecutive World Championships and 24 International events and gained 11 world records along the way.

Whilst competing she became the first para-archery athlete committee member at World Archery, representing archers all over the world, and after retiring from competing was inspired by this to move into governance. She is currently the Vice Chair of Sport Wales and of Aneurin Bevan UHB and sits on the Board of the British Paralympic Association.

She was awarded the OBE for services to sport in the King’s birthday honours June 2023.

She has previously been Vice Chair of UK Anti-Doping, where she was chair of the Audit and Risk committee and has held a number of voluntary roles, from Chair of Disability Sport Wales, Archery GB Board member, Wheelchair Advisory Group at International Rugby League and International Paralympic Committee Anti Doping Committee member.

She uses her lived and professional experience to contribute towards her passion of improving equity and inclusion, all with well-being and fairness at the heart.

Board member

Charity Commission Board members are ultimately responsible for all that the Commission does. They set the Commission’s values, business direction and strategy and make sure it acts fairly, responsibly, transparently, proportionately and ethically. Board members see that the Commission maintains its integrity and independence. They identify and manage risks and listen and respond to stakeholders.

The Commission’s Board members also:

  • monitor how the Commission meets its statutory objectives and uses its legal powers
  • consider the Commission’s management team’s performance, governance standards and delivery against plans
  • focus on maximising the Commission’s impact and effectiveness
  • make sure the Commission uses public funds prudently

The Charity Commission