Food Standards Agency

Food Standards Agency has a separate website

The Food Standards Agency (FSA) is responsible for food safety and food hygiene in England, Wales and Northern Ireland. It works with local authorities to enforce food safety regulations and its staff work in meat plants to check the standards are being met.

The FSA also has responsibility for labelling policy in Wales and Northern Ireland, and for nutrition policy in Northern Ireland.

FSA is a non-ministerial department, supported by 7 agencies and public bodies.


Policy papers and consultations

See all policy papers and consultations

Transparency and freedom of information releases

See all transparency and freedom of information releases