Ministerial role

Secretary of State for the Home Department

Organisations: Home Office
Current role holder: The Rt Hon James Cleverly MP


The Secretary of State has overall responsibility for all Home Office business, including:

  • overarching responsibility for the departmental portfolio and oversight of the ministerial team
  • Cabinet
  • National Security Council (NSC)
  • public appointments
  • oversight of the Security Service
  • overall responsibility for the Home Office response to COVID-19 including health measures at the border and police powers to enforce lockdown

Current role holder

The Rt Hon James Cleverly MP

James Cleverly was appointed Secretary of State for the Home Department on 13 November 2023.

He was previously Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs between 6 September 2022 and 13 November 2023.

He was Secretary of State for Education from July 2022 to September 2022.

Before that, James was Minister of State for Europe and North America in the Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO) from February to July 2022. He was also Minister for Middle East, North Africa and North America from September 2020 to February 2022. James was first appointed as a joint Minister of State for Middle East and North Africa in the Foreign & Commonwealth Office and the Department for International Development on 13 February 2020.

James was Minister without Portfolio from July 2019 to February 2020, and Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Department for Exiting the European Union from April 2019 to July 2019. He was first elected as the Conservative MP for Braintree in May 2015.

Follow James on Twitter: @JamesCleverly.

More about this person

Previous holders of this role

  1. The Rt Hon Suella Braverman KC MP

    2022 to 2023

  2. The Rt Hon Grant Shapps MP

    2022 to 2022

  3. The Rt Hon Suella Braverman KC MP

    2022 to 2022

  4. The Rt Hon Priti Patel MP

    2019 to 2022

  5. The Rt Hon Sajid Javid MP

    2018 to 2019

  6. The Rt Hon Amber Rudd

    2016 to 2018

  7. The Rt Hon Theresa May MP

    2010 to 2016