Ministerial role

Exchequer Secretary to the Treasury

Organisations: HM Treasury
Current role holder: Gareth Davies MP


The Exchequer Secretary (XST) is responsible for:

  • Growth and productivity, including skills, migration, infrastructure (physical & digital), digital economy, economic regulation, business regulation, competition, corporate governance, foreign direct investment (non-FS), and the Levelling Up White Paper living standards mission.

  • Energy, environment and climate policy and taxes (including transport taxes)

  • The following indirect taxes, including stakeholder engagement:

    • Excise duties (alcohol, tobacco, gambling, and SDIL), including excise fraud and law enforcement
    • Charities, the voluntary sector, and gift aid
  • Crown Estate and the Royal Household

  • Energy Profits Levy

Current role holder

Gareth Davies MP

Gareth Davies MP was appointed Exchequer Secretary to the Treasury on 21 April 2023.

In November 2022, Gareth was appointed Parliamentary Private Secretary (PPS) to the Chancellor of the Exchequer. Previously, Gareth served on the House of Commons Finance Select Committee from 2019 and the Treasury Select Committee from 2021.

More about this person

Previous holders of this role

  1. James Cartlidge MP

    2022 to 2023

  2. Felicity Buchan MP

    2022 to 2022

  3. Alan Mak MP

    2022 to 2022

  4. Helen Whately MP

    2021 to 2022

  5. The Rt Hon Kemi Badenoch MP

    2020 to 2021

  6. The Rt Hon Simon Clarke MP

    2019 to 2020

  7. The Rt Hon Robert Jenrick MP

    2018 to 2019

  8. Andrew Jones MP

    2017 to 2018

  9. The Rt Hon Damian Hinds MP

    2015 to 2016

  10. The Rt Hon Priti Patel MP

    2014 to 2015

  11. The Rt Hon David Gauke

    2010 to 2014